Mari Gøbel, Judge at the Nordic Championship

Photo: Sten Arne B. Brunsby

Photo: Sten Arne B. Brunsby

I’m Mari Gøbel, and I live in Norway with my three kids, husband and my wonderful golden retriever, Gaia.

When I first saw Carolyn Scott and Rookie with their impressing and inspiring routine on YouTube in 2004, I knew this was the sport for us. I have been quite active in developing the sport in Norway as an instructor, judge, competitor, part of several committees and former deputy Chairman in the Norwegian Freestyle Association.

Gaia Photo: Merete Huser

Gaia
Photo: Merete Huser

Gaia and I competed in the past, but we have participated in more performances than competitions.

Freestyle finally became an official sport in Norway in 2010, and unfortunately I have not had time to compete seriously after that year. That said, I am still actively involved in developing the rules for the sport in Norway, and I’m a quite active judge in Norway. I still work as an instructor, holding multiple courses a year. So even though I am not an active competitor, I am active and highly involved in the sport. We love training and performing, and compete together with my wonderful “Showgroup” in class 6+.

The Shwgroup Photo: ASTA photo

The Show Group
Photo: ASTA photo

Photo: ASTA Photo

Photo: ASTA Photo

The Show Group

The Show Group

Besides freestyle, Gaia and I have been competing in Rally-obedience and agility, but most of all she is the perfect family dog!

I am much honored to be judging the Nordic Championship, and I’m really looking forward to appreciate all the great routines in the competition.

Wish you all the best of luck!

This entry was posted in Judges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

